T’ruah’s 2019 Gala Honoring Human Rights Heroes


May 22, 2019

6:45 p.m.

8:45 p.m.


New York, NY United States

Prince George Ballroom
15 East 27th Street, New York, NY 10016
6:45-8:45 p.m.
6 p.m. Sharp: VIP Reception with 2019 Honorees
[for host committee levels Pursuers of Justice and up]

Join us for a special cocktail reception to honor and celebrate our tireless human rights heroes.

Cocktail attire. Kashrut will be observed.

Sheila Katz, incoming CEO of the National Council of Jewish Women, will moderate a panel discussion with the honorees.

Bethany Yarrow and Rufus Cappadocia will provide musical entertainment.



Graphic design by Shira Evergreen of Shirari.com


2019 Honorees

Rabbi Jocee Hudson
Temple Israel of Hollywood, Hollywood, California
T’ruah Rabbinic Human Rights Hero Award

Rabbi Elliott Tepperman
Bnai Keshet, Montclair, New Jersey
T’ruah Rabbinic Human Rights Hero Award

Debra Katz
Katz, Marshall & Banks
Raphael Lemkin Human Rights Award

Rabbi Simkha Y. Weintraub
Jewish Board of Family & Children’s Services, New York City
Founders’ Award

Previous honorees



Purchase your 2019 gala tickets in honor of our leaders.


2019 Gala Host Committee


Honorary Chair

Marc Gross and Susan Ochshorn
Michael Skloff

Prophetic Voices

Dobkin Family Foundation
Katz, Marshall & Banks
Marina P. and Stephen E. Kaufman
Kathleen Peratis
Temple Israel of Hollywood

Righteous Ones

Rabbi Angela Buchdahl
Rise Dimson and John Hatleberg
Michael and Alice Kuhn Foundation
David P. Stone

Pursuers of Justice

Rabbi Tom Gutherz
Laura Shapiro Kramer and Jay Kramer
Michael Hirschhorn and Jimena Martinez
Rabbi Paula Marcus and Aryeh Nanas
Elaine Reuben
Rabbi Lester Bronstein and Cantor Benjie Ellen Schiller
Dominique Bravo and Eric Sloan
Mary Ann Stein
Judith Tuller
Roberta Elliott and Charles Wantman
Rabbi Sheila P. Weinberg

Guardians of Justice

Shirley and Martin Bresler
Rabbi Ellen Lippmann and Kathryn Conroy
Ruth Eisenberg and Letitia Gomez
Rabbi Margot Stein and Rabbi Myriam Klotz
Rabbi Esther Lederman
Greg Murphy and Betty Jagoda Murphy
Joel Kazis and Sara Nathan
Karen Paul
Rabbi Sid Schwarz and Sandy Perlstein
Rabbi William Plevan and Sara Shapiro-Plevan
Deborah Rosado Shaw
Denise Littlefield Sobel
Rabbi Eric and Rabbi Jennifer Solomon
Rabbi Susan Talve
Temple Shaaray Tefila Rabbi Joel Mosbacher Discretionary Fund
Rabbi Dara Frimmer and Michael Yanow


Rabbi Gerald Serotta and Dr. Cindy Arnson
Rabbi Jill Jacobs and Rabbi Guy Austrian

Beth Sandweiss and Aaron Back
Rabbi Anna and Josh Boswell-Levy
Urvashi Vaid and Kate Clinton
Rabbi William Cutter and Georgianne Cutter
Rabbi Rachel Gartner and Dr. David Ebenbach
Eisenberg and Schnell LLP
Shelley English
Laura Flegel and Mary Farmer
Rabbi Charles and Krayna Feinberg
Michael Felsen
Michael Epstein and Kiera Flynn
Rabbi Dayle Friedman
Howard Kerbel and Beth Fuqua
Ivy Fischer and Debra Glessner
Rabbi Dr. Barat Ellman and Jay Golan
Phyllis Teicher Goldman
Rabbi David Greenstein
Rabbi Brian Fink and Aileen Heiman
Rabbi Lauren and Jon Grabelle Herrmann
Kohenet Judith Serach bat Asher Hollander
Rabbi Mordechai Liebling and Lynne Iser
Gidon Kaminer
Sheila Katz
Ellen and Marshall Kolba
Joan Kuriansky
Rabbi Michael Lezak and Rabbi Noa Kushner
Ruth Messinger and Andrew Lachman
Rabbi Ayelet S. Cohen and Rabbi Marc J. Margolius
Rabbi Jeffrey M. Marker
MAZON: A Jewish Response to Hunger
Rabbi Judith Edelstein and Jim Meier
Leonard M. Wasserman and Abigail S. Moore
Rabbi Elyse Wechterman and David Nerenberg
Rabbi Amy Eilberg and Louis Newman
Rabbi Rachel Timoner and Felicia Park-Rogers
Rabbi Rachel Kahn-Troster and Dr. Paul Pelavin
Rabbi Barbara Penzner
Rabbi John and Barbara Rosove
Barbara Reisman and Eric Scherzer
Emily Sack and Bob Schloss
Vivian and Luis Schuchinski
Margo Bloom and Mark Seal
Rabbi David Shneyer
Rabbi Michael Latz and Michael Simon
Rabbi Rebecca and Rabbi Steven Sirbu
Rabbi Toba Spitzer
Judith and Jack Stern
Rabbi Rachel Grant Meyer and Sarah Strnad
Rabbi Rachel Goldenberg and Jim Talbott
Rabbi Nancy H Wiener and Judith Tax
Rabbi Deborah Waxman
Rabbi Sharon Kleinbaum and Randi Weingarten
Rabbi Sam Weintraub
Rabbi Paul Kipnes and Rabbi Julia Weisz
Diane and Michael Werner
Rabbi Justin David and Judith Wolf


Join the Host Committee or purchase regular tickets to T’ruah’s Celebration of Human Rights on May 22. You can also honor our leaders by¬†purchasing a personal tribute greeting in the digital journal, to be presented at the gala and gifted to the honorees. [Host Committee levels Guardians of Justice and up include a personal tribute greeting in the digital journal.]